Buy Books Online, Largest Book Store in India

Shopping Cart 0

The Jane Austen Collection : Set of 6 Books (Boxed Set - 2020)

In stock
Special Price ₹716.00 Regular Price ₹795.00

Ships in 1-2 Days! Cheapest Price Guaranteed. Exclusively Distributed by Atlantic All Over India!

About the Book

Collection of (1) Pride And Prejudice; In the delightful social comedy of Pride and Prejudice (1813) Jane Austen delicately handles the problem of love and money in marriage where, in spite of many hurdles, eventually love triumphs over 'pride' and 'prejudice'. With a mild satiric tone Austen unfolds the growing romance between the Bennet daughters and the eligible young bachelors, but keeps the reader guessing, as much as the girls' mother and the neighbourhood, about the prospects of the tentative relationships.(2) Sense And Sensibility; Sense and Sensibility, the first of Austen’s novels to be published, remains as fresh as ever it was. The basic theme of the novel is concerned with the personalities of the two sisters of contrasting temperaments who share comparable experiences in the loss of the men they love. Elinor, practical and conventional, is the perfection of sense. (3) Mansfield Park; Mansfield Park is a unique novel in its moral design, with a heroine remarkably different from the author’s previous creations. Tom and Edmund, and two daughters Maria and Julia. (4) Emma; Emma was the last novel which Jane Austen lived to see through the press and is perhaps her most accomplished and representative work, happily combining the qualities for which she has been most praised—irony, wit, realism, vivid characterization, moral seriousness, and faultless control of tone and narrative method. (5) Persuasion; In Persuasion, Jane Austen’s last completed novel, unpublished until her death, satire and ridicule become milder and the tone is more grave and tender (6) Northanger Abbey; Northanger Abbey, written during the same period as Pride and Prejudice and Sense and Sensibility, represents Jane Austen's genius at its freshest and most enchanting

About the Author

Jane Austen (1775-1817) was the daughter of a well-off, cultivated Hampshire clergyman, the Rev. George Austen. She was the sixth in a family of five sons and two daughters. Her main education was from her father. As a child and young woman she read widely, including among novelists, Fielding, Sterne, Richardson, and F. Burney; and among poets, Sir W. Scott, Cowper, and her particular favourite, Crabbe. She began her literary career by writing parodies and sketches for the amusement of her family. Some of these were later worked up into the major novels of her maturity. Her life is notable for its lack of events; although she had several suitors, she did not marry. In 1801 the family moved to Bath, in 1806, after Mr. Austen’s death, to Southampton, and 1809 to Chawton, again in Hampshire, where she lived till her death in 1817. Jane Austen wrote of the provincial life she had seen (she never visited London) and there are no peasants and few noblemen among her characters. But her sense of comedy was aroused by the absurdities of the sentimental and gothic novels that she encountered, and her sharp mind enabled her to write ironically amusing sketches of character and situation; she minutely dissected snobbery, bourgeois morality and hypocrisy in an understated manner that comes as a relief from the excesses of many of her contemporaries. Though her life was uneventful, placid, and circumscribed, Jane Austen was highly sensitive to what went on around her. Her observations on the manners of her time and of her class are reflected in her novels: Sense and Sensibility (1811), Pride and Prejudice (1813), Mansfield Park (1814) and Emma (1816). On July 18, 1817, at Winchester, Hampshire, the author died, as quietly and serenely as she had lived.

More Information
Product NameThe Jane Austen Collection : Set of 6 Books (Boxed Set - 2020)
Original PriceINR 795
AuthorJane Austen
Publication Year2020
BindingBoxed Set
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:The Jane Austen Collection : Set of 6 Books (Boxed Set - 2020)
Your Rating