Buy Books Online, Largest Book Store in India

Shopping Cart 0

The William Shakespeare Collection : Tragedies (Set of 7 Books) (Boxed Set - 2022)

In stock
Special Price ₹501.00 Regular Price ₹715.00

Ships in 1-2 Days! Cheapest Price Guaranteed. Exclusively Distributed by Atlantic All Over India!

About the Book

Collection of (1) Macbeth; The Tragedy of Macbeth, or Macbeth, is one of his Shakespeare's shorter tragedies, and was probably written between 1599–1606, and is thought to have been first performed in 1606. (2) Romeo And Juliet; Romeo and Juliet is a tragedy written by Shakespeare early in his career between 1591-1595 about two young star-crossed lovers whose deaths ultimately reconcile their feuding families. (3) Othello; The Tragedy of Othello, The Moor of Venice, or simply Othello, is a tragedy written in approximately 1603. One of Shakespeare's most tightly woven works, it explores themes of racism, betrayal, love, revenge, and forgiveness, and has spawned multiple film, literary and operatic adaptations. (4) Julius Caesar; The Tragedy of Julius Caesar, or Julius Caesar, is believed to have been written in 1599 and is one of Shakespeare's works based on the true historical events. Though Caesar is the title character, his role is not as large as that of Marcus Brutus, the conspirator who takes Caesar's life. (5) King Lear; King Lear is one of Shakespeare's most famous tragedies and was believed to have been written be-tween 1605-1606, and was based on a legend of the Leir of Britain, a pre-Roman Celtic king from my-thology. (6) Hamlet; The Tragedy of Hamlet, Prince of Denmark, usually shortened to just Hamlet, was written by Shakespeare sometime between 1599–1602. It is arguably one of his most famous tragedies. The lines from Hamlet's monologue in act three that begin "To be, or not to be …." Have been studied and are widely known even amongst those that are otherwise unfamiliar with Shakespeare's work. (7) Antony And Cleopatra; Antony and Cleopatra is a well-known tragedy by William Shakespeare. Its first known appearance in print came in the First Folio of 1623.

About the Author

William Shakespeare (baptised 26 April 1564 – 23 April 1616) was an English poet and playwright, widely regarded as the greatest writer in the English language and the world’s pre-eminent dramatist. He is often called England’s national poet and the “Bard of Avon” (or simply “The Bard”). His surviving works consist of 38 plays, 154 sonnets, two long narrative poems, and several other poems. His plays have been translated into every major living language, and are performed more often than those of any other playwright. Shakespeare produced most of his known work between 1590 and 1613. His early plays were mainly comedies and histories, genres he raised to the peak of sophistication and artistry by the end of the sixteenth century. Next he wrote mainly tragedies until about 1608, including Hamlet, King Lear, and Macbeth, considered some of the finest examples in the English language. In his last phase, he wrote tragicomedies, also known as romances, and collaborated with other playwrights. Many of his plays were published in editions of varying quality and accuracy during his lifetime, and in 1623 two of his former theatrical colleagues published the First Folio, a collected edition of his dramatic works that included all but two of the plays now recognised as Shakespeare’s.

More Information
Product NameThe William Shakespeare Collection : Tragedies (Set of 7 Books) (Boxed Set - 2022)
Original PriceINR 715.00
AuthorWilliam Shakespeare
Publication Year2022
BindingBoxed Set
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:The William Shakespeare Collection : Tragedies (Set of 7 Books) (Boxed Set - 2022)
Your Rating